Premed 101 Forums

8 minutes ago, Ross said:

Hello,

I am a medical student at Universite de Sherbrooke and I wanted to know for residency is it possible for me getting a spot in Ontario? How does it work exactly and is it doable? 

Thanks

I am sure it is possible. It would be ideal if you do an elective in the university that you are seeking to do your residency at.

http://carms.ca/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/Table_42_Distribution_of_Matched_CMGs_From_School_of_Graduation_to_School_of_Residency_English.pdf

^ this matrix shows the distribution of MDs between school of graduation and school of residency. In 2017, does not look like a lot of Sherbrooke grads went to Ontario except for 1 to UOttawa. But this could be a preference thing. If you want Ontario, go for it.

You can set up an account and apply through the AFMC portal -https://www.afmcstudentportal.ca.

In general, you should try to electives in areas that you're interested in and want to residency in.  Some programs are more competitive than others.  At Sherbrooke, you are not allocated as many electives and they are at the beginning of MS3 (it is changing for the 2021 cohort) which can be disadvantageous since you haven't done core rotations.  

Ottawa could be advantageous since there are many French speakers and thus you would have an edge.  

Unfortunately there's little choice: the three pre-CaRMS elective blocks are all at the beginning of clerkship, which is your only opportunity to do away electives (unless you're 2021+).  My understanding is the three year schools have those kinds of issues as well - you just would have to hope for an understanding preceptor who evaluates you based on your performance given your experience at that point (which is possibly another reason why there is very little out of province flow).  

Ross,