Premed 101 Forums

tired in clinic in dental school

I've been pretty exhausted during my first two years of dental school...and now in third year, I'm treating patients.  Due to some unforseen circumstances for the foreseeable future, I'll have to cope with not getting enough rest for the next little while.  So some questions:

1) how have some of you dealt with being tired in clinic?  It's one thing to be tired in class, but another to be tired when working on patients... 

2) maybe fatigue is more manageable in clinic, and not sitting and listening in a lecture?  Or do you find that you actually do forget things, or are slow, or don't work efficiently?

3) More importantly, has anyone ever made mistakes on patients b/c they were tired?

Thanks!

Hey, I'm in 4th year and I found that regardless of what's happening in my life (sick, sleep deprived, etc.), I'm always focused when I'm in clinic. I think that's mostly because I love clinic and hate lecture, but when a patient is sitting in front of you it's hard to be yawning (and if you are at least it's behind a mask). If you are in a state where you think you'll be doing poor work then maybe you shouldn't be in clinic that day for your patient's sake.

I can definitely relate. 

It's a big jump from reading notes to treating patients.

I'm the type that is more alert when i'm actually doing stuff with my hands and not just sitting there listening to lecture.

I've definitely done some dumb stuff in clinic like take a PA of the wrong side or miss the apex of a root, also forgetting to wash away cavity conditioner before putting on GIC on a tooth....

You're in a learning environment....you'll make mistakes! don't worry about it! you can't be perfect all the time! and patients know that!
I've put in restorations where there's voids everywhere....and overhangs and stuff. 
someone in our year drilled the wrong tooth once....LOL there's tons of stories.