Premed 101 Forums

Should I apply

Hey all, 

I might get some ridicule from asking something like this on a forum (and rightfully so) but here goes:

During undergrad 

I graduated from undergrad this past May, and during undergrad I aimed for dental school. In my 4th year I applied to dental schools, interviewed at some but interviewed poorly and did not get in. I was pretty choked at the time, but was determined to re apply. 

The present

Since getting rejected I started a full time job that I love, and that has given my a little bit of exposure to professions outside of dentistry. I am very intrigued by these others professions and not 100% sure if dentistry is what I want anymore. By no means am I trying to talk down on the profession as I still think it is great, I'm just not sure if it the one for me . 

The conflict 

I just feel confused to be honest. For one, people tell me that I should apply as it would be a waste not to with all the time spent studying for coursework and the DAT. Furthermore, as much as I love my current job, it certainly isn't something I can do forever, and if I was ever fortunate to get into dentistry this cycle, it would be nice to "move on". I've also already paid for CASPER. I guess because of my somewhat neurotic and "go go go" mentality, I would  feel like I "wasted" a gap year not applying to anything.