Premed 101 Forums

Applying to Multiple Specialties

ihsh

Hello,

As a first-year medical student, I am still in the process of exploring the different specialties. I am wondering, though, whether it is common/feasible for people to apply to 3 or more specialties. My understanding is that the limited electives time can make it difficult if the specialties are seemingly unrelated (and you don't want to appear to be "backing up"), but I just wanted to double check.

The following are some sample combinations that I thought of:

Example 1:  neurology (priority),  internal medicine and family medicine?

Example 2:  Radiology (priority)+ Anatomical pathology+ hematological pathology+general pathology

Example 3: Urology (priority)+ general surgery + internal medicine

Thanks!

So while it's possible...there's many reasons its not recommended:

1) Most schools give you 8 - 12 weeks of elective time before CaRMS reference letters are due. Most electives are 2 weeks. That means you have 4 -6 chances to get a reference letter. You need 3 reference letters per specialty. It's also preferred if the letters are from staff that are in the specialty you're applying to (so urology letters from urologists, etc). To do the combos you want - that would be really difficult! It would require you to have a huge variety of electives, which leads me to: