Interview Selection 2018 Cycle

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Time stamp: 12:14 EST

Result: Interview

wGPA: 3.9

MCAT: 510

EC's: Hospital volunteer for 3 years,  Companion for Oncology Camp for 4 years, Board of Directors for 2 organizations, Therapeutic Riding, Research Publication, etc. Currently working in the realm of Quality Improvement and Patient Safety. 

Essay: Really happy with my essay

Year: Non-Student but I have a Master of Public Health

IP/OOP: OOP- Strong Connection. Lived in the Maritimes for a number of years

Time stamp: 1:13 AST

Result: Invite!

MCAT: 515

EC's: Varied. My strongest section will be employment as I am a current health care provider. Also have multiple publications and health related volunteer activities.

Essay: Feel good about it. Had multiple sources review it.

Year: Non-student, with a masters in physiotherapy

IP/OOP:  IP

Time stamp: 1:14PM EST

Result: Invite!

wGPA: 3.9

MCAT: 515

ECs: Hospital volunteering (little), tutoring, CAF Reserves as a medic, student trainer for 6 years, band, personal hobbies. 

Essay: Spent a lot of time on it this year and had lots of people review it and give feedback.

Year: 2nd year out of school

IP/OOP: IP, formally an OOP... nice to have this status back, I've lived in NS a total of 19/28 years lol

Time stamp: 12:13 EST

Result: Invite

MCAT: above OOP cut-offs

EC's: few thousand hours in medically-related employment, varied extracurriculars, teaching, average research (1 pub, conferences). Volunteering is definitely Achilles' heel.

Essay: Maritime essay was excellent. Unsure about other essay; wrote few days before and didn't address "why dal med" as much as I would have liked.

Year: non-student, Masters complete

IP/OOP: OOP

Thrilled. Love the school, the people, Halifax...can't wait to go back for a visit!