Premed 101 Forums

No EC's chances

Hi everyone, I'm a fourth year nursing student who is interested in applying to med school. I currently reside in Calgary. My GPA isn't TOO bad (3.7-3.8) but my main concern is my lack of volunteering. I have volunteered in hospitals and a few odd positions around uni, but nothing outstanding. I have found it difficult to volunteer because I work two jobs to help support my family. Would this look bad on med school applications? I know that those who get accepted have outstanding GPAs, research and a ton of ECs under their belt. I am looking to volunteer after graduation when I have a better paying job, but at this point it would not be with positions in school and I think it may be difficult without having any clubs to join. 

The point of volunteering is to demonstrate altruism and CanMEDS competencies by following one's interests. Work also demonstrates CanMEDS competencies. Many applicants are restricted in volunteering due to financial obligations. I don't believe you would look bad due to this. In fact, if you have children or a child, in my view, this is tantamount to volunteering. I never had research when I applied and was accepted. Don't worry about joining clubs, etc., focus on your academics and your family, apply and then let nature take its course. You can only do the  possible, not the impossible and this should not hold you back. I wish you every success. :P Welcome to the Forum!

1 hour ago, Bambi said: