Premed 101 Forums

How to maintain a high GPA in nursing school?

ThisIsMe

Hi!

I'm a 3rd year nursing student in a collaborative nursing program (so 2 years college and then 2 years university). I finished my 1st semester in university recently and have received all but one of my final grades. My GPA this semester will be either 3.84 or 3.88 on the OMSAS scale (depends on that last grade) but my goal was to get a 3.9.

This past semester I've studied more than I have in my entire life and I've worked really hard, but I feel like I need more help in terms of "studying smart". The way I see it, I have 2 main areas where I need to improve:

1) Subjective assignments (reflections,nursing papers, etc)

2) application based tests (which answer is the best?)

In science-based, objective courses I can get an A+ without a sweat but when it comes to nursing courses, I struggle. I spend weeks on my papers, and then I get an A without any feedback in terms of what I could have done to make it an A+. As for application based tests, I feel like it all comes down to your ability to think on the spot, but sometimes my thinking isn't quite right.

Does anyone have any advice? My winter semester is going to be full of papers and application-based tests, so I really need to improve.

Thank you!!

Hey,

First I’ll say a 3.88 makes you a competitive applicant for most schools, especially if you are IP for a province outside of Ontario. Also check around the specific school boards and admissions websites because some med schools round to the tenth for gpa, so that 3.88 actually is a 3.9 in some places.