Premed 101 Forums

asdasdasd

4 minutes ago, KeyzerSoze said:

I approached the PI of a lab I've been working at for almost a year today asking for funding for NSERC. I'm in my 2nd year so of course I'll be doing my MCAT this summer and applying for med school the upcoming year, but evidently my PI despises the notion that students are allowed to leave undergrad without finishing their degrees,as he feels it is "taking advantage of" the lab. He told me that either I stay and finish my 4th year thesis (i.e. not apply for med school in my 3rd year), or I would no longer be allowed in the lab.

I've been weighing the two sides. Obviously admission after 3rd year is highly unlikely, but the fact that my PI wouldn't let me apply at all seems unfair. On the other hand, I've made substantial progress and I'm in a serious position to get published this summer so maybe I give that small chance of early admission up for progress in my academic career...?

I've absolutely no idea, and my prof wants a decision by the end of the week. I don't know. At all.

ha classic academic narrow mindedness. As if UG working in labs are the ones being taken advantage of - all your work/free labour is such a burden on him. Plus the education you receive there is hardly wasted if you get into medical school. 

Obviously in any case he simply won't provide you a letter of reference for a 3rd year application so you don't have to factor that into anything.