Premed 101 Forums

Hello, 

I know everyone must be tired of seeing these types of "what are my chances" posts but I could really use some advice. I am currently in my last year of my undergrad at UofC and eligible to graduate this spring. Unfortunately, med school has only become a dream of mine in the last year or so and my first two years GPA does not reflect this desire at all. Here is a breakdown:

I have taken 5 courses each semester for my entire degree. 

GPA: 

1st year: 2.73

2nd year: 3.02

3rd year: 3.61

4th year: 4.00

EC's

Do pracitucms count for this? If so, I done extensive work in my community with local organizations working with individuals with disabilities. I have spent time at The Association for the Rehabilitation of the Brain Injured and done an internship at Emily follensbee (a school for children with multiple and complex learning needs). I have spent the last year working with the Government of Alberta creating and delivering a prevention presentation on fetal alcohol spectrum disorder that I have delivered to grade 8 and 11 classrooms as well as university classrooms. 

I have been lucky enough to have done a lot of traveling over the course of my degree (20 countries in three years), and I am in the process of planning a trip to Peru with a previous professor of mine to assist her with research as well as doing some volunteering. 

I have also been doing volunteering within the university and external organizations on my own time. 

I have been working one job for the past 4 years (just serving at a restaurant, so not very relevant). 

I do not have any publications at this point. 

My understanding is that UofC will use your three best years to count your GPA but even with dropping my first year that would leave me with a 3.54 which is not competitive. Any advice going forward? As I see it I have three options:

1. take a 5th or 6th year of my current degree

2. take a second undergrad