Premed 101 Forums

Ottawa Med French Stream

Hi everyone!

I've been looking into the difference between applying to the French vs. English stream at Ottawa med. I understand that the French stream is less competitive so I was thinking of applying for that stream. French is not my first language but I can express myself well enough to make it through I believe. Has anyone who has studied English applied for the French stream and gotten an interview? How did things go and how strict are they with assessing your proficiency in writing/speaking? I would really appreciate any advice/help! :)

Also, how important are extracurriculars with OttawaMed?

I studied French so I wouldn't be able to comment on the challenges however I can let you know the following things:

1) Both classes have access to echo360 recorded lectures and the material in both streams, so if one lecture is very hard to follow in French you will have the option to listen in English. Also, when we write exams they give us all the questions and answers in both languages

2) you have to look at your stats and evaluate whether or not you will be competitive or not in English vs French. Depending on where your GPA stands it makes a big difference in terms of outcome.

3) They evaluate ECs as part of your sketch (you receive a score) so the more the merrier, but do not neglect more important criteria such as GPA. Also, try to focus your activities on CANMEDs as well as activities you have a keen interest and passion for, it will show at the invterview

Hope that helps

Mr Duck

• 4 weeks later...
19 minutes ago, Neji3 said:

Does anyone know whether we are tested in English in the French stream? Are there a few questions in English ?

Our exams are in both languages.  So in our exam question booklets, one side of the book is in English, and one side is in French.  The questions and answers are all the same, so you can do the exam in whatever language you choose. :)

10 minutes ago, HappyAndHopeful said: