Premed 101 Forums

IMS grad school interview at U of T

dodohae

Hi there, 

I am a undergrad student who has applied to Institute of Medical Science Masters program at U of T. 

I had pretty poor grades (from awful first year but 3.7 rest of the years) but I had couple of decent project course experiences. 

Surprisingly I was emailed today to set up an interview with a professor!

This is pretty scary because I have heard that you usually interview with graduate coordinators, not professors. 

Any advices towards how I should approach the interview? For those who have been accepted, what would they ask and what should I prepare for? 

I'm not overly familiar with the program however, it seems odd that you "usually" interview with graduate coordinators, as they are not the people who you are working for. In my experience, typically graduate school interviews (research based) are preformed by the principal investigator for the lab that you will be working in. For this program, do you apply to a specific stream (cancer, cardiac, respiratory, immunology, etc.) and then get placed in a lab after the fact? Or is the professor that is interviewing you the same one you will be working for? 

21 hours ago, ExercMed said:

I'm not overly familiar with the program however, it seems odd that you "usually" interview with graduate coordinators, as they are not the people who you are working for. In my experience, typically graduate school interviews (research based) are preformed by the principal investigator for the lab that you will be working in. For this program, do you apply to a specific stream (cancer, cardiac, respiratory, immunology, etc.) and then get placed in a lab after the fact? Or is the professor that is interviewing you the same one you will be working for?