Premed 101 Forums

Getting jumped at Queen’s for being Asian

I remember doing an elective at queens. My girlfriend (who is caucasian, I'm not) got so many stares down the street. 

One group of people (students) openly laughed and pointed fingers at us across the street, yelling some racial slurs. 

I don't know what it is about Kingston to be honest - I thought Alberta would be worse, but actually there are quite a high number of inter-racial couples here and everyone's been delightful :)

I studied at Queen’s for 4 years. While I do agree that there is a small Asian population, I personally never experienced any racism that was as blatant as described in the article. 

Racism is prevalent all across Canada, even in Vancovuer, I’ve been called a “Chink” on the street for no reason. 

It’s sad that this happened, but I’m sure it’s not that norm at Queen’s.

Queen’s is a fantastic school, don’t let one bad apple deter you from going there!

3 hours ago, distressedpremed said:

I remember doing an elective at queens. My girlfriend (who is caucasian, I'm not) got so many stares down the street. 

One group of people (students) openly laughed and pointed fingers at us across the street, yelling some racial slurs. 

I don't know what it is about Kingston to be honest - I thought Alberta would be worse, but actually there are quite a high number of inter-racial couples here and everyone's been delightful :)

I'm currently at Queen's for grad studies. I read this article a month ago and it really bothered me. Did this happen to you late at night when people are intoxicated or did it happen in broad daylight?

Here's the **DELETED** thread from Queen's and the accounts of other people that experienced similar situations.