Premed 101 Forums

Should I Claim Extenuating Circumstances

Moonlight2

Hello Everyone,

I'm a 4th year Concordia student with a Concordia GPA of 3.98/4.3 (would be ~ 3.9/4 for McGill) , however I have received "Transfer Credits" for 9 courses from UofT which will bring my cGPA down to 3.7 (unless I try to repeat all of them at Concordia next year, and McGill accepts to replace the transferred courses with the ones I retake in Concordia).

Now I am wondering, first, do I stand any chances of an interview invite with this GPA , a science pre-req GPA of 3.9 or 4, and volunteering experiences in community centres, charity groups, soup kitchens and a hospital, plus research experience with a chance of publication.

Also, I was thinking of submitting a letter of Extenuating Circumstances for the time I was in UofT, claiming having just immigrated to Canada and being hit hard by depression for the first two years (for which I actually went to a psychologist, but for about 15 sessions). I am wondering how tough they are about giving exemptions for extenuating circumstances, and how can one improve their chances of getting EC?

Would claiming EC unsuccessfully hurt the chances for my application with the numbers as is?

P.S. I have asked McGill and they told me they do consider the grades from those UofT courses I got transfer credits for in my GPA calculation for sure.

Thank you so much everyone, I appreciate your help.

Won't hurt to claim EC! They wont penalise you for submitting one. Worst case scenario, McGill wont consider your letter and you have 3.7 GPA going in. Best case scenario, you end up with a higher GPA. Your application sounds competitive in all other areas. 

2 hours ago, MD.VA said:

Won't hurt to claim EC! They wont penalise you for submitting one. Worst case scenario, McGill wont consider your letter and you have 3.7 GPA going in. Best case scenario, you end up with a higher GPA. Your application sounds competitive in all other areas.