Premed 101 Forums

GPA 3.8 vs EC's

Lily95

Hi everyone, I graduated from my first degree in nursing (Université Laval) last summer and my cGPA is 3,80.  I plan to apply in MED at Mcgill next year (I'm an IP). I did sciences in CEGEP so I have all the prerequisites.

Since my GPA is borderline, I worry about my EC's (not the best either)

Do work related EC's count? I've been a patient attendant for 2 years during nursing school. And I'm currently a nurse at an Emergency Department. 

During nursing school, I did peer mentoring for 2 years. Essentially, I helped new nursing students to adapt to university and to develop a way to be successful in their classes.

In CEGEP, I was tutoring for French classes. 

That's about it... Would you suggest me anything to boost my EC's? 

Also, during my last 2 years, I lost a lot of weight. I'd say this has had a big impact on the woman I am now and on personal growth. Would it be relevant to talk about it in my CV?

(sorry for my english I'm french)

Thanks, 

Lily 

Hi Lily,

Your English appears perfect! :P

3.8 is not borderline for IP! I believe you are competitive academically. I would definitely include your work related experiences in your CV - as clearly you are demonstrating CanMEDS competencies. I am unsure about your loss of weight being included in your CV, let's see what others recommend. I recommend that you seek to expand your activities, depending upon time you have, to include a positive volunteering commitment to the wider community, e.g., Big Sisters where you mentor and become a role model to a young girl in need of this, helping the homeless in a soup kitchen, volunteering at a women's shelter, anything of interest to you where you are demonstrating compassion, empathy and making a contribution to society. This would demonstrate active participatory citizenship being involved within the wider community. BTW, I think a 3.8 is fantastic for nursing.

Hi Bambi,