Premed 101 Forums

Need help pertaining to school choices and residency chances

Hey guys,

This is my first cycle applying and I have interviewed at Dalhousie (OOP) and Queen's. I have recently been waitlisted at Dalhousie. I am not sure about Queen's but the interview felt even better than at Dal because I had some experience with the MMI. 

In the chaotic wait for May, I have started thinking about which school I would choose given acceptances at both (which would be a great problem to have..). I am an Ontario resident and would very much love to do my residency in-province. I know that both schools will give me a great education, but my question is will choosing Dalhousie put me at a significant disadvantage at matching in Ontario? Is it more of a challenge to match back into Ontario if you do your education as an OOP CMG?

I'm in a similar boat and have been talking to people about it. Seems that anywhere in Canada is same for education and the only difference MIGHT be the opportunity to make in depth connections with staff where you'd want to do residency at or work at. I'd say if you want residency and work in Ontario, it's best to stay in Ontario.

Good luck!

It isn't much more challenging, it is definitely doable. It could make a small difference though, and if the schools are equal in your eyes in other ways, then I would lean Queens. However, you can definitely match in Ontario from either school. Less people are going to go from Dal to Ontario mainly because most people in Dal are more likely to want to stay in Dal. 

6 minutes ago, Edict said:

It isn't much more challenging, it is definitely doable. It could make a small difference though, and if the schools are equal in your eyes in other ways, then I would lean Queens. However, you can definitely match in Ontario from either school. Less people are going to go from Dal to Ontario mainly because most people in Dal are more likely to want to stay in Dal.