Premed 101 Forums

Finishing first undergraduate degree... Next steps?

hollia

I'm sure I'm asking the same general questions that have been asked a million times, and I'm still a few years away from even thinking about applying to med school but I'm really starting to consider what my next steps should be. I'm in my last year of a Bachelor of Science degree, majoring in Psychology. It will have taken me approx. 5.5 years to complete my degree by the time I'm finished (I've had to work a LOT during my degree to support family members who were struggling). Due to a family loss, my first year GPA was awful (1.85 on a 4.3 scale, or something like that). However, I've had a strong upward trend and have had achieved 3.2-3.7 every semester since. I'm expecting to graduate with a cGPA of around 3.26. I attribute this to the fact that I gave up on the idea of medical school after my terrible first year, and aimlessly wandered through the rest of my degree. I did not enjoy psychology (which was my 'back up plan') and therefore did not feel motivated to continue pursuing it. That said, I've wanted to go to medical school for years, and I'm looking for a way to achieve that goal.

For this reason, I'm thinking about pursuing a second degree. I want to make myself as competitive as possible to as many schools as possible, while realizing that realistically, a lot of schools won't overlook my less-than-stellar grades in my first degree. I've already got a few ideas of what I really want to major in (as in, subjects that would give me a viable backup plan if medical school doesn't work out), but I'm just having some troubles with the logistics of going forward.

I have a few questions specifically:

1. Would it be acceptable to complete a two-year degree, provided I am able to get approx. half my credits from my first degree transferred to the second? I've read that it is usually fine, but I just want to check.