Premed 101 Forums

Is there such thing as "too many" electives in a non-competitive specialty?

It wont hurt you for psych to do more.  Your school may not let you do that many electives in one thing though.  You can "balance it out" by doing a variety of different settings and subspecialties in psych.  Or doing electives that are "almost psych"--neuropsych, brain injury, addiction medicine, etc.

56 minutes ago, ellorie said:

I did 6 in psych, one in family, and one in emerg. Never came up in interviews, totally normal. 

For sure.  Ive said this before, but the "programs want to see balance" is in my experience a total myth.  I helped with the file reviews for neuro when I was a resident and they literally considered you a more serious applicant the more neuro you did, and too much elective variety made them worried you weren't that committed and may be a risk of switching programs lol.  People hate hearing this but it was definitely true.

1 hour ago, MD_2021 said:

How do you guys have so many elective blocks?

We only have 10 weeks of electives..

we have 16 weeks (8 blocks), do you go to a 3 year school?

It wont hurt you for psych to do more.  Your school may not let you do that many electives in one thing though.  You can "balance it out" by doing a variety of different settings and subspecialties in psych.  Or doing electives that are "almost psych"--neuropsych, brain injury, addiction medicine, etc.

we have to do at least 3 specialities, but max 12 weeks (= 6 blocks) in one so i should be good with 6 psych + 1 family + 1 something else :)

About the only specialty where having some variety in electives is beneficial is Family Medicine. I generally tell FM gunners to aim for about 3 straight FM electives (I only did 2), then do the rest in any FM-related fields that hold their interest. As long as you're not clearly gunning for another specialty, FM programs tend to like that variety.