Premed 101 Forums

not sure what to do - give up?

Hey guys, 

been a lurker of this forum for quite some time and I guess I need someone to talk to or just the harsh truth. Let me give you the background info, I'm going to be a 3rd-year undergrad student in the coming fall, and I've reached a low this summer because I'm just not sure what to do or if I should even bother applying, 

Moved here for uni (I'm a permanent resident though), and sort of screwed up my first year, got all Bs 1st semester and 3 As and 2 Bs 2nd semester, then got all As and A+s in my 2nd year (woohoo), and hopefully going on the right track and will continue getting As and A+s in my 3rd year.

I've done a full course load and will continue doing a full course load the next year.

I just feel like I'm never going to get in, looking at all the stats of people who've applied and gotten in, my confidence has pretty much gone to shit and I regret how stupid I was first year. With my family problems and mental health issues, it was a lot to deal with (not that it's an excuse or anything), its just I'm looking back and regretting letting these problems get in the way of my studying.

2nd year I picked myself back up and worked hard, mostly got 90s and above (7/10 subjects) and the rest were As (3/10 subjects)  

I'll work even harder 3rd year to get the same grades. I'm hoping to apply in my 4th year, but is it even worth it? knowing I won't get in? everyone's been telling me I have no chance, and that it's impossible. 

Writing my MCAT this summer, been studying really hard for it too, hoping to get that 129 in CARS. 

ECs; part of non-profit organizations, volunteering in a hospital, 1 publication and currently in the process of writing the draft for another, 1.5 years of research, tutoring, started up my own organization, part of a women's health organization, intramurals, volunteered for a couple of marathons. 

nothing really big I guess.