Premed 101 Forums

Nutrition to Medicine/Really need some advice

Hi, 

I am a nutrition student from Ryerson U, just finished my third year. I had always wanted to become a doctor when I was in high school. But because I have a low-income background and am first-gen student and immigrant, I had lots of self-doubts. I then chose to pursue the dietetics and become a Registered Dietitian. After three years of undergrad studies and various working and volunteering experiences, I gain more confidence and maturity, so I really want to switch to medicine and pursue my childhood dream. I have some questions about my next steps.

My grades:

First year (five courses/semester, full-time): 3.96 

Second year (five courses/semester, full-time): 3.99

Third year (four courses/semester, full-time): 4.00

Extra-Curricular Activities: 

2 year- Clinical experience in visiting patients, job shadowing a dietitian 

1 year - Community Diabetes Program volunteer 

Worked in a non-profit and at school in the career centre

Research assistant at a nutrition lab in my first & second year, and now doing some research with my prof 

Vice president of a student group in food policy

Have a business start-up in sports goods 

These are some of my questions and concerns: 

(1) Pre-requisites: I have taken science courses in my program (1 year physiology, 1 year biochem (no lab), 1 semester Gen Chem (with lab), 1 semester Organic Chem (with lab), some nutrition sciences, psychology minor). Because my sciences courses are done in my nutrition program so they may be a bit easier than the regular courses that science students take, so my concern is that med schools will not count these courses as pre-requisites.