Premed 101 Forums

Current Mac OT First-Year Open To Any Questions!

Hi all, 

I'm a current first-year student in Mac's OT program willing to answer any questions you may have pertaining to our program! I understand the position you're all in right now and I'm sure the additional support would be helpful to some. 

Hi there, 

I have applied to a few OT programs for the beginning September 2018, and am conflicted between Mac OT and U of T OT. Would you be able to comment on any differences you feel between both programs, or any advantages you see in the Mac OT program from your experience? 

Also, from my understanding, OT placements at McMaster have a large "catchment". Would you be able to comment on your experience with your placements? Were you satisfied with the placement opportunities, despite the locations being out of the city?

And my last question, is if you might be able to comment on your experience with the problem-based learning approach? As well, as a student, do you feel that there are opportunities to connect with upper-years and clinicians as mentors. 

Thanks!

RP

On 5/30/2018 at 10:24 AM, OTstudentRP said:

Hi there, 

I have applied to a few OT programs for the beginning September 2018, and am conflicted between Mac OT and U of T OT. Would you be able to comment on any differences you feel between both programs, or any advantages you see in the Mac OT program from your experience? 

Also, from my understanding, OT placements at McMaster have a large "catchment". Would you be able to comment on your experience with your placements? Were you satisfied with the placement opportunities, despite the locations being out of the city?

And my last question, is if you might be able to comment on your experience with the problem-based learning approach? As well, as a student, do you feel that there are opportunities to connect with upper-years and clinicians as mentors. 

Thanks!

RP

Hi there!