Premed 101 Forums

Organic Chemistry Dilenma

Hello all,

I am currently in 3rd year @ UBC doing honours Genetics... I got a C- in Chem 233 last winter that I almost wished I failed so that I can take it again... It looks quite ugly on my transcript... although i have always been weaker in chemistry, i did not anticipate doing this bad... I felt okay after the final but apparently it really wasn't okay... I am contemplating on two options right now: one is to take 203/204 next winter term (which might not be a very good idea b/c i've heard that they are even harder than 233, and I will have quite a heavy course load next year too), or take the organic chemsitry course @ SFU this summer.... I want an opinion as to which choice is better and also if you think taking other organic chem courses will do any good for my transcript (will the admission office even look at another organic chem course mark if chem 233 was done earlier?)... other than trying to do something about that horrible mark I think taking an organic chem course again might help for my MCAT as well, as I'm planning to take it again this summer.... I got 29O last summer... with a 9 on Biological sciences mainly due to organic chem :'(

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! and to the ppl who applied this year good luck on the interviews!

I took chem 203 a few years ago and didn't like it...the fact that I was a bad student back then didn't help...but it is a tough course. I, too, have heard from several people that it's much tougher than 233. Surprisingly, I found 204 much better than 203, but our class was much smaller as many people had failed 203.