Premed 101 Forums

Xavier University of Bonaire

Hey guys!

Recently I've been looking into going to med school in the Caribbean and I came across a school called Xavier University of Bonaire (very close to, but not the same as the one in Aruba).

I was wondering if anyone has heard of the school/goes to it?

It almost seems too good to be true. Small class sizes. Not too hard to get into. In an area that isn't covered with tourism and distractions.

Right now I'm in my second year of my bachelor's degree and was thinking about switching there, or to another school to finish my degree...

Don't even think of schools that are less than 15 years old, don't forget that if you go to the Caribbean you are most likely to do your residence in the states and you have to make sure that your school will allow you to be licensed there.

You are still in your 2nd year of a bachelor you said. Why the hurry?

Well, why wait when I could get into med school somewhere. The sooner I get it out of the way, the sooner I can get a real job and get out of school.

That being said, all schools have to start somewhere, so whats so bad about Bonaire being new?

If getting out of school sooner to get a real job is your priority, you may want to look elsewhere than medicine. o_O Medicine = lots of school, and then self-schooling for the rest of your career (unless your patients don't object to obsolete diagnostic techniques and treatments). Sorry if this sounds rude, but it seems like you have the wrong attitude towards medicine.

And the school does sound sketchy. But that's something a little (or a lot of) research can remedy.

Well, why wait when I could get into med school somewhere. The sooner I get it out of the way, the sooner I can get a real job and get out of school.

That being said, all schools have to start somewhere, so whats so bad about Bonaire being new?