Premed 101 Forums

From low VR to HIGH VR

doc_911

Has anyone had an experience of moving from 6 VR to 10VR?? What is the secret? I have been getting a low score on VR consistently, however I have been trying to "enjoy" and undertsand each passage that I am reading. Still no improvement. It almost seems like there is something that I am REALLY doing wrong and I can't seem to pinpoint it:mad: After each practice VR test I feel like I did well and then... I am in tears:mad:

Please... help:( I am freakimg out, cause I am writing in 10 days...:eek:

My strategy is so far: invisoning the athour, identifying the main idea and mostly comprehending the material in the passage. I studied EK for it and did extermely well on the practice passages. But once I immersed into an hour long VR I have desperately failed. What would you recommend? What do you think are the strongest and the most important strategies to use?

It sounds like you are using the examkrackers strategy? So far I'm in the same boat as you are. My PS and BS is good enough, but my VR is <7 every time... What I've been trying is reading the passages without a time limit and really concentrating on the main idea. Sometimes this can take quite a long time (haha I'm not sure how long, but longer than an hour per test). I heard someone say that VR is like math homework, the more you do, the faster you get.

Haha I'm just hoping that I do actually get faster, and quick. I write August 9, and am already pretty anxious lol.

I just feel like I am doing something fundamentally wrong if I am scoring in such a low percentile;-(( I think I should try and read each passage as an argument that an "opponent" is presenting" - may be that will help me to look at it more critically.... People with great VR scores - any advice??? please help....;-)))