Premed 101 Forums

Organic Chemistry + Answer

eng_dude786

Sorry guys,

but I have some 'simple' questions about organic chemistry that I am hoping some of you gurus can help me out. I'm a newbie to orgo.

My first question is about Huckel's Rule. It goes 4n+2 = number of pi electrons in a compound.

For furan (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Furan), the total number of electrons is 6, when you count 4 electrons from the pi bonds and 2 pairs of electrons from the oxygen.

However when you look at Pyridine (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pyridine), my textbook says that it has a value of n=1 for huckel's rule. That makes it having 6 electrons. So in this case we do not count the lone pair of electrons of nitrogen then? Because for furan we counted the number of lone pair electrons the oxygen atom had. When do we count and not count the lone pair of electrons?

Hopefully I'm not being too confusing :(

You've got it. Nitrogen does not contribute its lone pair of electrons to the ring in pyridine.

Here's a tip: Concentrate on conjugation within the ring. (Conjugation is the alternation of double bonds). In pyridine, there are already alternating double bonds, so pyridine does not need to contribute its electrons to the already stabilized ring. On the other hand, furan does not have alternating double bonds. Now imagine furan's oxygen molecule as a double-bond. What've you got? Alternating double bonds! Does the oxygen have a lone pair of electrons? Yes, it does, so it will contribute them to the ring for stability.

I have a question about Chiral Carbons.

Suppose the carbon you want to know if it is chiral or not is part of the ring. For chirality there needs to be 4 different substituents at the carbon, right? How does the ring formation fit into this? What I mean is as follows:

Example # 1:

4-chloro-1-cyclohexene

Is carbon # 4 considered to be chiral? The book says it is but aren't the two substituents on the carbon # 4, CH2 on both sides?

Example # 2: