Premed 101 Forums

Where did you go for your undergrad? (US applicants)

I'm a high school student about to enter my final year and am planning to study medicine in the US after university. I wanted some advice/input from people who are planning to or are currently studying in the US. Right now I am very confused on which university to attend. My choices are:

University of Toronto

University of Western Ontario

Queen's University

Univeristy of Waterloo

I want to attend a university where I can achieve a high GPA and from I keep hearing it is almost impossible to have a high GPA at Toronto and Queen's. That is why I am leaning more towards Western.

I was wondering is US schools look at the reputation of the school (undergrad) when you apply. For example, would they choose a Toronto student over a Western student?

It would also be helpful if people would share which university they attended and why and what their GPA was. This would be very helpful.:)

The only schools with any sort of reputation in states would be Mcgill and UofT - with Mcgill being much better known (I don't know why exactly). Will the reputation help you? Only marginally, if at all.

My suggestion? Check the campus and meet the students, go to a school you feel comfortable attending. As a current Western student I can tell you that getting a high grade isn't any easier here, the class average is still 66-68% like most universities. The only advantage is that most classes do not have a strict bell curve, that apparently is present at UofT.

If I had to do it all over again I would have attended a really small school like Mount Allison or whatnot. The grades are higher and you actually interact with professors so you end up stellar letters of recommendation.

The only schools with any sort of reputation in known to med school adcomms are McGill and UofT