Premed 101 Forums

LOR from science profs

Hackintosh

hi everyone,

i'm thinking of applying next year to american schools because my ontario app did not go so well last year. I do have a slight problem though, there are quite a bit of schools where I have a slight chance of getting accepted that require recommendations letters from atleast two science professors yet I only have one professor under whom I worked as a thesis student. Does anyone know if these schools ever make exceptions if it is requested? Has such a thing been tried by anyone here? If yes I would like your input.

I don't know for sure but I would say you need to get another one. It doesn't need to be someone you worked for. Don't you have any upper year science courses that you got a good mark and went to see the prof a few times to ask questions?? Then they would remember you.

bah.

I have another prof who taught me and I worked for but I don't think she would give me a good letter.. I don't know if I want to take that chance..this is why I asked.

If you're not a science major they won't expect you to have spectactular science LORs. Both of mine were profs who had taught me in 500+ people intro classes. One told me point blank she wouldn't be able to write anything beyond "token got an A in my class." I considered asking for exemptions, but the few schools I asked were not open to it. They all just said that they have a copy of your transcript, they know how deep your exposure was to science faculty, and will weight your non-science LORs accordingly more.

If your thesis/major was in the sciences I doubt any school would let you waive the requiremnt.