Premed 101 Forums

Applying to the US without research experience

joshto

I hope to apply (early) this coming cycle. I am re-re-taking the MCAT, hopefully that works out. Regardless of the outcome of my MCAT, another problem with my application; I have little to no research experience. That is, I have helped out in labs, but never took part in actual 'research'. How will this hurt my chances in the US and Canada?

Same deal here, I've helped out in labs but no actual research. I think the research heavy schools are just looking for people who want to get involved in med school and beyond. If you've done research before, that's either an indicator that it's something you're passionate about, or that you knew you had to do it to get into med school. While I didn't have any experience, I mentioned that there are certain areas of medicine, maybe not within the traditional test tube sciences that I'm keen on investigating.

I'm not sure what the non-research heavy schools are looking for since none of them seemed to like my application.....but I agree a few months of research will be meaningless compared to a few more months of volunteering.

I know some of you have applied this year, so in your opinion, what are the US 'research' schools that I should avoid?

also, how does this no research bode for canadian schools?

Uh none?