Premed 101 Forums

When is the best time to apply to american med schools?

So I have a feeling my chances this May 15th aren't too hot. It doesn't bother me too much since I'm only in third year. So next year, to insure I get in at least somewhere, I'm going to be applying to Canadian and 'merican med schools. But when is the best time to start applying? I've heard people say "earlier the better", but how early is "early" if I want to get admitted for fall '10?

Don't be too confident about your chances at American schools. They are still competitive.

Submit your primary by July and you should be ok, so long as you get your secondaries done quickly (and your stats/PS are good).

So I have a feeling my chances this May 15th aren't too hot. It doesn't bother me too much since I'm only in third year. So next year, to insure I get in at least somewhere, I'm going to be applying to Canadian and 'merican med schools. But when is the best time to start applying? I've heard people say "earlier the better", but how early is "early" if I want to get admitted for fall '10?

If you want to apply Stateside, you need to start doing a lot of research and groundwork before you even create that interfolio/AMCAS account. Honestly though, if you're only starting to think about it now, you're already a bit late for this cycle. The reason is that many of these schools have very specific requirements for LORs and you need to get these into a document delivery service such as Interfolio or now AMCAS offers the service as well (?). A good rule of thumb is to get your secondaries in/be complete by July/Augus/early September for the best chances.

There are many threads in the past about this. Good luck.