Premed 101 Forums

LOR--non academic referees

I have a question regarding choosing non academic referees...I worked as a Research Scientist for a year in between my undegraduate and graduate degrees, would my supervisor/boss from that year qualify as non-academic (even though he is a university professor?)

I have a question regarding choosing non academic referees...I worked as a Research Scientist for a year in between my undegraduate and graduate degrees, would my supervisor/boss from that year qualify as non-academic (even though he is a university professor?)

Nop, it has academic written over it.

Nop, it has academic written over it.

Hmm. I'm pretty sure schools consider a letter "academic" only if the professor has TAUGHT you a course in the sciences. So no, that wouldn't be considered an "academic" letter, because you weren't in their class.

Even though it's technically fine, you might want to find someone who has supervised you in an extra-curricular or non-research setting just to add breadth to your application. (and then send both!)

I guess we need a third party to settle this? :)

Hmm. I'm pretty sure schools consider a letter "academic" only if the professor has TAUGHT you a course in the sciences. So no, that wouldn't be considered an "academic" letter, because you weren't in their class.

Even though it's technically fine, you might want to find someone who has supervised you in an extra-curricular or non-research setting just to add breadth to your application. (and then send both!)

I guess we need a third party to settle this? :)

A supervisor in research activities is still considered academic. For example your thesis adviser, even though he/she might have never taught in a classroom setting or course per se, is still considered academic.