Premed 101 Forums

Opinions of which US schools to apply with these stats...

Hi everyone,

This is my first post here. I'm applying for the first time to med schools - both Canadian and US. I'm not sure which schools I have the best shots at - especially since there are so many US schools... so the following are my stats and based on these, I am hoping some of you more informed people can give me some assistance.

3.5 gpa, but 3.8 in my past 2 years of undergrad, 27O on mcat (10 PS, 7 V, 10 BS; I plan to re-write in July). I have a masters in pharmacology from King's College London (UK) and a year's worth of full-time research experience. I missed the application cycle for Sept 2009 entry, but I did apply to some Irish schools... I got into 1 but decided to reject it now because I couldn't justify going out there without even applying in North America.

I appreciate any help you can give me!

Yeah... my PS and BS was a fluke I think. Usually I score between 12-14 on those ones. However, my VR sucks. I've never gotten over a 9 on any practice test. I consistently get 7-8.

I am hoping there are some schools out there that accept lower VR scores... Hopefully my rewrite in July goes better. But I don't know what to do if I can't get my VR up.

However, my VR sucks. I've never gotten over a 9 on any practice test. I consistently get 7-8.

keep practicing. people don't score well on verbal because they underestimate the importance of practice and think they either have the verbal skill or not.. but with practice you can spot the right answers faster and learn who to get the most out of the passage with the least amount of time.. good luck.

A 9 in verbal would be fine but not below that.

The MCAT is really important so we can't suggest schools to apply to until you have your score. What you can do is submit your AMCAS with one school in June, then when you get your new score add more.