Premed 101 Forums

Quick Question - LORs

Hey,

I just have a quick question. I am kinda confused about the whole LORs. Do we submit our primary and then 'if' we get a secondary we submit our LORs along with the secondary??? Or do we just send the LORs before the secondary??? Thanks! Sorry, I'm new to the whole applying to the states!

LORs are not part of your primary application. AMCAS will verify your primary without LORs, you send those to the schools around the time of your secondaries. Some schools do not want your LORs until they specifically ask for them.

LORs are not part of your primary application. AMCAS will verify your primary without LORs, you send those to the schools around the time of your secondaries. Some schools do not want your LORs until they specifically ask for them.

You sure that's the case this year with majority of the schools using AMCAS as the reference letter service instead of sending letters to individual schools?

You sure that's the case this year with majority of the schools using AMCAS as the reference letter service instead of sending letters to individual schools?

Hmm well actually I don't know for sure that using the AMCAS letter service doesn't change things. But since some schools still don't do it, and some schools already did it last year with no change in policy for them, I would say it's a safe bet.

I wrote to AMCAS a few days ago about this, this is what they said

Dear Applicant,

Thank you for contacting AMCAS.

Applicants can add letter entries after submitting their application. In addition, letters can be received by AMCAS in support of an application even after the application has been processed and made available to the medical schools. Not receiving letters will NOT delay the applicant's processing time with AMCAS, but applicants are advised to note all letters deadlines that the medical schools will enforce. I have included some additional information about the AMCAS Letters program below for you.