Premed 101 Forums

Quebeb Cegep to US college

This question is plainly out of curiosity, not sure i wanna do what im saying here.

So im a Quebec student who finished Cegep. Im 18. Basically i just want to know if it's possible for me to apply to US/Outside-Quebec colleges (not med schools yet).

As i've already done lots of prerequiste (organic chemistry, calculus, ...), i tought i could finish up other required classes if i attend as a premed student. I think that i could finish college faster and then have the opportunity to apply to LOTS of med schools (as opposed to the 3-4 med schools in quebec).

Is it possible? Is it a good choice?

Thanks

I think you can apply, the issue is whether you'll get credit for your CEGEP work or if you'll have to do the full 4 years. I'm guessing the non-Quebec Canadian schools would be more likely to recognize your CEGEP than American ones but I'm not sure.

This question is plainly out of curiosity, not sure i wanna do what im saying here.

So im a Quebec student who finished Cegep. Im 18. Basically i just want to know if it's possible for me to apply to US/Outside-Quebec colleges (not med schools yet).

As i've already done lots of prerequiste (organic chemistry, calculus, ...), i tought i could finish up other required classes if i attend as a premed student. I think that i could finish college faster and then have the opportunity to apply to LOTS of med schools (as opposed to the 3-4 med schools in quebec).

Is it possible? Is it a good choice?

Thanks

Yes, you can go to college or university in USA, but with Quebec having great educational opportunities and the lowest cost of tuition in Canada, unless your parents are willing and able to spring for very substantial additional heavy expense in tuition (plus living expenses) for no particular reason, it does not make sense to me.