Premed 101 Forums

MCAT Re-write: 3rd time?

metukah

Okay, so here is my story:

I have just finished my undergrad (life science) at UofT and starting a MSc. in the Fall at UofT. I have written the MCAT twice already (the past 2 summers) and have done poorly (19S and 21R). Both summers I took the TRP course, did all the questions, did all the practice AAMCS/TPR test (twice). I was averaging 9-10s in the sections, but PS was most challenging for me.

My GPA for the past two years has been 3.85, which I believe makes me eligible for various schools. I have over 3 years research experience, and plenty of volunteer/ECs. I am starting my Masters in September (2 years) and hope to reapply to med after, but until then I have to re-write the MCAT. I decided to take this summer "off" and just work and not do MCAT, and I'm thinking to do it during the year or next summer.

I feel that the MCAT is the last stumbling block, preventing me from applying. I feel really lost in how to tackle the test for the 3rd time, and I am worried to fail again. All of my friends seem to be succesful in doing well, so I don't know what's wrong with me. I need a new strategy/advice, and wondering if anyone has any advice/suggestions!

Thanks!!

seems like you have everything else except the MCAT down pat

i dont understand, if you were scoring consistent 9-10's in the sections on the practice ones, why such a difference in the real MCAT? the practice tests should give you a rough idea of how well you would do on the actual one, and some of the practice tests are easier/harder than the actual one... did you just 'freeze' in the real test situation? there had to be some x-factor!

Hey metukah,