Premed 101 Forums

Verified and lab component wasn't counted?

Hi, I just got verified and as a Canadian student my university lists my courses as 0.5 and 1.0 credits (regardless if it has a lab component or not).

So when I was verified each of my credit hours became 3.0 hrs and 6.0 hrs (which does not reflect lab components, which would make my hours 4.0 and 8.0).

Did you guys experience this problem in conversion? What did you do? Take it up with AMCAS or explain to each school?

Thanks!

Hi, I just got verified and as a Canadian student my university lists my courses as 0.5 and 1.0 credits (regardless if it has a lab component or not).

So when I was verified each of my credit hours became 3.0 hrs and 6.0 hrs (which does not reflect lab components, which would make my hours 4.0 and 8.0).

Did you guys experience this problem in conversion? What did you do? Take it up with AMCAS or explain to each school?

Thanks!

Which university is this? UofT?

I would call AMCAS to clarify your application. I initially inputted 3.0 and 6.0 credit hours for my lab courses, but AMCAS changed it to 4.0 and 8.0 when they verified my application.

Which school are you from? I calld AMCAS and they told me to submit an academic change request...

But what about schools that ask for 4.0 or 8.0 credit hours? It looks like I only have 6.0 General chemistry + Lab

I was verified yesterday and I noticed the same...3s and 6s...

I will call AMCAS today...

Will we have to submit ACR for each course? That's gonna suck....

I just called AMCAS and they told me to call schools..

I called MCW and the director told me that most US schools who accept Canadians / Internationals are aware of the funny conversion that AMCAS uses, and they will accept 6.0+Lab as the full 8 hours. So all U of T students - rest easy!

I just called AMCAS and they told me to call schools..