Premed 101 Forums

Admissions and GPA... Wow I'm Lost!

Well hello there! First post on the forums, although I have been a long-time lingerer. Please stay with me as I try to describe my beyond-confusing situation.

I am currently in my second year of sciences at the University of New Brunswick. The first year I only managed to pull off a 1.9, for reasons that I will not discuss. Regardless, I am retaking all of the classes this year while only adding two new courses.Things are good and by he look of things I should pull off a semester GPA of over 4.0 (I'm on the 4.3 scale), ultimately bringing my GPA to a 2.6. By the end of the year I hope to have this up to a 3.1. Although UNB will display both of my grades, both marks will be factored into my GPA.

In the spring I will be applying to Dalhousie. Aftering discussing my situation with Dalhousie, I will start a fresh GPA at Dal and only receive a "TR" on their transcript for courses that I took at UNB. I plan to be at Dalhousie for 3 years, totalling my undergraduate years to 5.

Now here is my question. Say, for example, I apply to Dalhousie's medicine program in the fall of my fifth year (I will have 4 full years completed; 2 at UNB, 2 at Dal). How will they calculate my GPA? What years will they factor into my GPA calculation?

Thanks a lot!

Hey Neuro,

Based on your description, it seems as though your first year won't impact your ability to attend Dal for meds. The way the GPA calculation works for Dalhousie is they look at your best two consecutive years if you're applying prior to graduation, or they look at your best three years OVERALL if you're applying after graduation. While your first year's grades will be considered at many other schools in the country, I don't expect they'll be used in your aGPA for Dal, even though you will still be expected to submit your UNB transcripts when it comes time to apply.

Hopefully this clarifies things. Feel free to as any followup questions.