Premed 101 Forums

Reference letters

Hey guys,

I was wondering your opinion on who I should ask for a reference letter, right now this is for the American Schools. I completed my Masters degree so one will for sure be my supervisor. However for the other two I do have a few options.

1) I have two collaborators with whom I worked with on my master’s thesis, they will be authors listed on the paper. Both would write exceptional letters. One is a female, who is in haematology at Toronto general, the other is a male who works at Canadian blood services but is a professor in the department of medicine at U o f T. I know both would write strong letters.

2) I had an informal co-supervisor who is a clinical division head at TGH and he is the Canada research chair for infectious disease. However, I worry his letter and my supervisors will be redundant. But they are both very influential people.

3) I am still very close with a professor of mine from Western, he taught me in forth year, however we are still in touch. He is a mentor of mine. I know he would write a good letter, he would be more on the acedemic side.

I applied last year and did not get an interview anywhere in Ontario. However I do not believe it was due to references (I used my supervisor, prof and the haematologist at TGH), as I got accepted to a few schools in Ireland, which are still competitive.

Unfortunately, I do not have extensive volunteer, so I do not have someone who can comment on that part of my application.

Thanks for any input you have!

Let me know if you think I need to look for someone else!