Premed 101 Forums

Stanford University

Hello,

I am a Canadian, and it has always been my dream to attend Stanford Med. I will be finishing my honors in biology at University of Toronto, and if all goes to plan, I hope to finish with 3.88 GPA. I have extensive volunteering experience ( 8 years working in a hospital, habitat for humanity, Leadership positions at school) and I have 2 years of research experience, with publication. I got a 39Q on my mcat.

I have a few questions, is Stanford on rolling admission? I know that it is wise to apply to American school early, but I wanted to do a couple of more courses in the summer, and hopefully apply by september, would that hinder my chances? ( my gpa would go from a 3.88 to a 3.9, not a big change, but still I end up in the 3.9 region). Should I do a fifth year to bring up my gpa?

That 0.02 will make hardly any difference to your application... you should apply ASAP to have the best chance anywhere. I'm not sure if Stanford is rolling admission though, but it doesn't really matter in the end (0.02 added to your GPA).

Im really quite confused, The law and reflex maybe you guys can help me out. I too have a realtively high MCAT 40R but a crappy GPA of 3.7, i would be fine with mid tier schools, not really aiming for the toptiers or anything. So should i even bother applying this year and waste all that money or do a 5th year to boost the GPA up? or just think about DO or carrib?

Im really quite confused, The law and reflex maybe you guys can help me out. I too have a realtively high MCAT 40R but a crappy GPA of 3.7, i would be fine with mid tier schools, not really aiming for the toptiers or anything. So should i even bother applying this year and waste all that money or do a 5th year to boost the GPA up? or just think about DO or carrib?