Premed 101 Forums

Advice needed

gkdl823

Hello,

I am a 4th year BSc student graduating in 2011. My GPA is somewhat competitive, depending on the way schools calculate it (eg. recent 60 credits or wGPA would give me around 3.85, versus overall GPA which gives me around 3.75:( ). My extracurricular activities and volunteer work are also alright - not outstanding, but not bad. The most prominent one would be music, which I've studied seriously for about 14 years now. I've achieved provincial and national standards, and have attended summer music festivals and masterclasses, studying with well-known musicians and professors in Canada.

Medicine has always been what I've wanted to get into. However, the MCAT has been one of the biggest BEASTS :P I've ever had to face! I recently took it for my first time a month ago and did not feel well about VR, so decided to plan a rewrite. I scheduled the rewrite a couple days from today, so that I would receive my marks for my 1st attempt before writing it (and to see how much exactly I bombed VR lol). However, it was not VR that shocked me, but the writing sample. VR went better that expected, but writing sample... an M?! I expected an O at the very, very least. Because I least expected this, I had focused my studying for the rewrite on VR and PS. I don't believe I can improve my WS score in a few days, and am coming to a conclusion that this rewrite is a no-no.