Premed 101 Forums

Medical Radiation Science

Hello!

Currently I am a grade 12 student, worried about what path to take for university.

I am thinking of taking Medical radiation science at Mac, however I have too many questions that needs to be answered ASAP!

My goal is to apply before Dec. 13, which is pretty soon :eek:

My schedule right now is:

1st Sem: Religion (catholic school), Biology, Chemistry, Adv. Functions

2nd Sem: English, Physics, Calculus, Challange and Change (subject to change)

So, here are my questions: (sorry, they may be stupid questions to ask!)

1) Do you recommend taking an exercise science (anatomy) course by dropping the Challenge and Change course?

2) If I get accepted, then I decide to take another semester to upgrade my marks, is the acceptance still valid?

3) Is Radiology a hard path to pursue? I have physics next semester, so I don't have any idea of the difficulty.

4) After graduating from radiology, is there a stable job guaranteed? or do you need to go into further education to have an actual career? :confused:

5) What is the grade you need to maintain throughout the 4 years?

6) There was Laurentian and the UOIT university that also offered Radiology, however, I prefer Mac. (is there another alternative path other than these 3 universities?)

7) How is the competition at Rad.?

8) What other paths do you recommend as a back-up? So far, I'm HATING chemistry, but Biology is alright so far. I don't know about physics yet. I'm thinking of Life-sciences, but I heard of many of my older aquaintances that didn't enjoy it, so they ended up switching.

9) *** additional question: Do you know anything about the dentistry field? Do they offer it at Mac? If not, what do you have to go through? (medical school, etc.)

I hope you do realize that radiation science is not the same as radiology young fella. If not, try and use the search function on the google of your favorite browser.