Premed 101 Forums

Don't know where to apply???

I started undergrad on sep 2007.. and completed 1st and 2nd year as an engineering science student at U of T. Then I decided to go on PEY (12 month coop). During my PEY I reallized I want to go to med school and I wrote the MCAT last summer. RIGHT NOW I am in 3rd year and I want to apply to med school (preferrably an md-phd program) at the beginning of 4th year, which will be 2011 fall. I am considering both Canadian and US schools. But I am confused about where should I apply. I don't want to apply to more than 7-8 schools...If you guys can help me to pick few schools to apply I will really appreciate it.. Here are my stats....

Program:

Engineering Science at U of T

- Biomedical Engineering Major

- Neuroscience Major (AN EXTRA MAJOR)

GPA:

cGPA after 2nd year: 3.5

cGPA after 3rd year: 3.60 (ESTIMATE)

cGPA after 4th year: 3.65 (ESTIMATE)

GPA for 3rd + 4th year: 3.90 (ESTIMATE)

Science GPA should be around 3.8 ish... (ESTIMATE)

Nonsciene GPA should be around 3.5 ish.. (ESTIMATE)

MCAT I already wrote it...40 R (balanced)

Work Experience:

MY CURRENT EXPERIENCE:

- 2 mth research in aerospace (full time)

- 4 mth researach in optics (full time)

- 4 mth research in biomed (part time)

- PEY after my 2nd year (which was in the energy sector - 12 mth coop)

MY PLANS

In 3rd year ... I should be able to have 8 more months of part time research experience in biomed (as part of research credit) and 4 more month full time during the next summer

University ECs ... not much ... no time

-4 mth of volunteering in a hospital (part time)

-I own and run a commerical tutoring organization

-Tutoring

-Chair of Multicultural Club

SO PLEASE... I will really appreciate any HELP...I reallized that I want to be doctor after my 2nd yr and hence have many irrelevant experience.. I don't know if those will help in anyways...

THANK YOU