Premed 101 Forums

Matching back to Canada after US graduation

VTeight7

Hey all,

I'm a CDN citizen, 1st yr at EVMS, & planning to apply to CARMS in a few yrs.

Would anybody know if I would be treated like a Canadian med student during the CARMS applications, considering I'll still be a CDN citizen and I'm studying at a LCME-accredited school (even though it's US)? Or will I be at a great disadvantage simply because I didn't attend a Canadian med school? If I'm at a disadvantage, does anyone know what might give me a leg up for the Canadian match (i.e. should I plan electives in Canada over the next few years)? Thanks!

From personal experience, it's not that difficult. I got interviews at all FM places I applied to. For anesthesia, I got interviews at most of the places I applied to. The PD at McGill specifically stated he wanted me in the program and the fact that I went to a good US school was an asset (even though I graduated in the bottom quartile of the class). In the end, I chose FM over anesthesia but I have no doubts I would've been able to match into anesthesia had I wanted to (which is of course more competitive than FM).

Guest copacetic

you will experiences no problems or bias. this is for several reasons:

1) you are a canadian citizen/permanant resident

2) you are attending an LCME accredited school (only in north america...carribean excluded)

I confirmed this 2 years ago with CARMS and the heads of some residency programs in canada before i applied to the states. You are essentially treated just like any other canadian who graduates from a canadian medical school. The only disadvantage you have is that you cannot do your core roatations at canadian schools, like canadian graduates do. So you will need to do most if not all of your electives in canada just so the programs get to know you. but the same goes for canadian grads applying to programs not run by their native institution anyways, so it doesnt really affect you all that much.