Premed 101 Forums

Writing Sample

Guest JAMIRA

Hi :)

I have been slowly preparing to write the MCAT in either the Spring or Summer (depending on how things go). I've heard from many people that taking a prep course really isn't necessary, so I've been studying on my own. The only major problem I am having is with the writing sample. I have been looking over some of the prompts and I wouldn't have the first clue where to begin! I am familiar with The Princeton Review's approach to the format of the WS, but I'm still pretty lost. Does anyone have any tips on how to best prepare for the WS?

~Jamira

Guest blinknoodle

I was pretty stuck for WS examples when I studied for the MCAT.. I was pretty out of the loop for current events.

I found it useful to read through current news and magazines (cbc.ca, globeandmail.com, economist.com) especially in areas that I knew little about (ie, business). I would practice both by sitting and writing full WS and also by flipping through the 300 prompts and seeing if I could think of good examples.

That worked well for me, but I don't think WS examples are that important -- I know many people who had hypothetical examples and did fine; I think the synthesis is what is important.

-blinknoodle

• 2 weeks later...
Guest coolguy3650