Premed 101 Forums

No Organic

Guest seonagh

Guest seonagh

Hello all,

I was planning on taking my organic chem this summer but it looks like my school won't be offering it:( .

Any ideas on how possible it would be to learn the orgo you need and study everything else for the MCAT between June and the August date. I will have just finished taking all of the first year Bio, inorg. chem and physics so just refreshing needed on that.

Also I have not taken anatomy or physio etc. I have a pretty poor MCAT prep book and it seems to have a lot of that in the review sections. How much of that do you really need?

Seonagh

Guest biomedeng

Hello,

I was in a similar position a year ago. I started studying in january for the april mcat. I did not have biology or organic chem, as I never took them as part of engineering.

I ended up getting a 10 in the biological sciences.

Here is how I did it:

* get the kaplan mcat study book. read throught it all, and take some quick notes. they summarize all the info you need.

* then do a ton of practice questions. if you are strong in the other sections you should have more time to focus in on the bio and organic. I basically learned the bio and organic for the mcat - did the practice exams and learned from my mistakes.

Guest studentz

Get the Kaplan book and pay attention to the AAMC content list. In other words, completely ignore the benzene, alkene and alkyne sections (except nomenclature for the last two) since you won't need "prior knowledge" of these topics.

I hated orgo at uni, didn't do well in it, and because of that Kaplan book (& my willingness to ignore the instructor's advice to still study the superfluous sections) I got a 14 on BS.

Don't fear it!;)

Guest Kirsteen

Hi there,