Premed 101 Forums

Need MCAT help!!

Hoote

Well, here's the lowdown...

I did well on my UofC pre interview score and ended up about 7 points away from the interview cutoff only because my MCAT was disappointingly low (21Q). The good news is that if I can pull off a 29-30 or something like that, and all other factors remaining fairly constant, I should have a crack at getting an interview. I would be considered IP as well. I have an arts degree as well.

So here is my dilemma...

I studied 3-4 months full time for the MCAT prior to writing it. I used a Kaplan live online course and poked at the exam kracker physics book. Unfortunately I did very poorly. I chalk this up to a few reasons.

1. I have been out of university for 7 years and only took one semester each of chem and o chem (i dropped physics after failing the first exam). So I was very unfamiliar with the material.

2. Being out of university for so long, I found that my first month I spent on very introductory subjects and had to literally relearn basic things like how to balance equations, fractions, exponents, etc. etc. This took away from my ability to really delve deep into and gain a strong undertanding of more core concepts.

3. I spent a lot of time learning the material for the first time (there was so much to cover in such a short period of time), working out problems (i.e. solving equations), and only did 5 practice tests close to the date of the test. In the end I saw that there was almost no requirement to work out anything on the MCAT (i only had to pick which equation had the correct location of the variables) and it really emphasized understanding the materials rather than wrote memorization of specific facts.

This year I will be working at a job where I will have about 8-10 hrs a week where I can study for the MCAT with a goal of writing it summer 2012. How do you recommend I study?

I was thinking of something like this: