Premed 101 Forums

Writing MCAT on Sep 1, 2011

Oliver86

Hi guys

I have registered to do my MCAT on Sep 01, 11 and it's my first time. I have finished my third year recently.

1) I want to know if this is too late considering that I don't feel strong and have just started studying for mcat. If so, why is there MCAT dates in October?

2) Is the saying that "do it as early as you can" applicable to computer based MCAT as well? ;)

If you think that I have to do the test earlier is there any option to change that date? if so when should I do it considering that I need to study hard.

My GPA = 3.7 :cool:

Taking the MCAT as early as you can is mainly for American schools as they have rolling admissions. There are no dates in October. You will not receive your score before most application deadlines in Canada if you take in September.

Provided that you request a change more than two weeks until your test date, you can delay the exam, but for a fee.

From personal experience (granted I don't have many), I feel that MCAT in April may yield the best results if you prepare well--simply because MCAT is based on how well you do compared to others, and well... not many people write the MCAT in April, most super smart people are going to write in August/September.

Then again, maybe there is some merit in writing in the summer (e.g. better preparation) =S

You have plenty of time to study so I wouldn't worry about September being too soon. If possible, I think you would benefit from writing earlier. That way if your mark is great wahooo you don't spend your entire summer studying, and if it's not great you have time to study more and write again. I wish I had done it that way!

Taking the MCAT as early as you can is mainly for American schools as they have rolling admissions. There are no dates in October. You will not receive your score before most application deadlines in Canada if you take in September.