Premed 101 Forums

What are my options?

Hi everyone.

I’ve been doing a lot of research on these forums and the information on this board as well as the international school board have helped me out tremendously for determining viable steps moving forward.

My background is as follows: 3.56 AMCAS GPA (3.8 GPA in 3rd and 4th yr), 1st MCAT: 28 (B 10/P 9/ V 9) 2nd MCAT: 30 ( B 13/ P 10/ V 7). I consider my EC’s quite strong (lots of volunteering, lots of intramurals, some research and employed with a biomedical communications company).

I plan on working in Canada in the future, however, I’m willing to go to school abroad as well as undergo my residency in the US (however I would prefer Canada). Based on what I’ve read, I’ve determined that applying to a DO school is a viable option for me. However, I’ve seen people mention that there are ‘lower-tier’ allopathic US schools that are about as competitive as USDO schools. Just wondering if anybody knows which schools they are or if there is a list such as this one for DO schools: http://www.doapplicants.com/Pages/Schools/Schools.aspx?mode=2 which provides a breakdown for the avg GPA/MCAT scores required to get into all US allopathic schools. Also, if I do eventually earn a spot at one these ‘lower tier’ schools, will I be at a significant disadvantage when it comes to residency appointment? Are there any other downsides I should worry about with respect to these ‘lower tier’ schools in the states? Does anyone have any alternative recommendations for me based on the info I've given you? I'm open to new suggestions.

Thanks!

That 7 is going to kill you for Canadian and US allopathic schools. For US allopathic schools, you most likely need a balanced 30 (nothing below a 9, still an uphill battle given your GPA and Canadians status) or high unbalanced 30 (35+ then ur 7 is ok). My advice, go DO or rewrite the MCAT and apply for western/queens

Hi everyone.