Premed 101 Forums

Topics on the MCAT

Guest Dockrh

Guest Dockrh

Hey everybody,

Is there a lot of biochemistry in the MCAT? At Queens university, biochem is not offered until third year. Is this course absolutely essential to prepare? Please give your thoughts and opinions

dockrh

Hey Dockrh,

The AAMC publishes a MCAT manual (www.aamc.org/students/mca...start.htm) that lists the concepts they consider fair game. The link for biology is www.aamc.org/students/mca...ology.pdf.

I would consider the first two sections with bold headings to be biochem-related, but I wouldn't consider a course in biochemistry to be absolutely essential. Most of those concepts are at least touched on in high school and/or junior bio courses. I didn't take a really in-depth course on metabolism and DNA until the semester after I wrote the MCAT, and I didn't feel like I was missing any key knowledge.

Guest Jochi1543

I studied DNA and metabolism in cell biology, and found that I had already learned all the material that was covered in the Kaplan MCAT prep book regarding that. Irregardless, it's only like 2 chapters' worth of material, maybe even less?

Guest red like blood

personally, I think you can do it without taking a biochm course.. just use the books, and if you need some more help buy a used biochm book or use the internet!

gl

Guest Dockrh

Thanks everybody for the advice!(sigh of relief). I am going to Western next year (specializing in biochem or physiology). Your thoughts are greatly appreciated!!

:) Thanks again:)

dockrh

Guest rae21

So is the material covered in a Kaplan book (I bought one from Chapters...urgh, it was pricey) enough to prep you for the mcat? I'm worried because I wanted to take an anatomy course next year but it's full so I'll be learning what I can from the book (+ the Kaplan course when I take it). Is that sufficient?

Guest red like blood

hi