Premed 101 Forums

Studying for MCAT while working full-time?

Guest Gavanshir

Guest Gavanshir

Hi, I just found out yesturday that I'll have to work-full time this summer to pay my rent. Has anyone studied for the MCAT and done well while having other major commitments? I'm feeling very discouraged right now so it would help to hear other people's stories.Thanks.

Guest trynit

I'm studying for the MCAT while working full time too! You just need to be organized and start right away. Hopefully you have a physically demanding job, so you won't mind sitting down and reading for a couple of hours each night. I sit all day at my job, so it is really hard stay still in the evenings. Unfortenatly, I just can't seem to read my EK books while on a tredmill:D

Good luck

Guest blinknoodle

Yes, of course many people keep up with their normal lives while studying for the MCAT! I worked full-time the summer I wrote the MCAT and it worked out fine. I took a week off before the test, though. It would be better to look at your capabilities, what you are comfortable with and tackle your weaknesses if you have a short amount of time.

Guest treehuggingbiologist

It'll be tough, but it is doable. If you're working full time, try to start as early as humanely possible (ie now) and get the week before (or two weeks if you can swing it) off before the test so you can get in the mcat zone.

Not very inspiring, but if you know its gonna be tough, you're less likely to put it off.

Guest AH800

I would tend to think that the MAJORITY of people who write the august mcat would be working full time. I don't know too many students who can take the summer off of work. I personally am working full time (9-5), playing a sport, and taking a summer course(online). I usually find ~2hrs/weekday to study and ~5-6hrs/day on weekends. As the mcat gets closer I'm going to start to try and stay up a little bit later to get in an extra 1/2-1hr each day. All in all I'd say it's quite doable.