Premed 101 Forums

need advice on whether to rewrite MCATs

Guest machprime

Guest machprime

Hi

I wrote the MCAT this year for the second time. I'm in my last year at UT and my MCAT this year was LOWER than my MCAT from the year before. Last year I had less than 30 and this year, I am a much farther from it.

How screwed am I ? I mean, in all honest, I'm probably screwed now. Any options you guys can think of? Should I go and rewrite a 3rd timne ? What schools take the best marks?

I have a decent GPA (3.7+) and I'm very involved in my community but those damn MCATs !!

Me and standardized testing don't get along.

Guest ezaholic

Hi there,

Well, you could definitely write it again, but before you do that perhaps you should try to determine why you did worse ths time - did you study less/differently, were you sick the day of the MCAT...

How to improve? practice, practice, practice, practice. For example, with the VR section, while reading the passage you can almost start being able to tell what the questions will be.

I don't know if this has really answered your question - but hopefully it has been of some help.

ez

Guest Jeesing

Hey Machprime,

I just wrote my third MCAT and got a 35Q after first getting 29N, then a crappier 28M. To my knowledge most schools take the best set of MCAT scores so for those schools you can only improve or stay the same. I know U of C and U of M use the best set of scores for sure. I havent really looked too indepth into ontario or the other eastern medical schools but i think most of them would take the best set of scores. You are definately not screwed.

Like ez said, practice is the key to improving. I dont how well you did in your individual section but for me VR was my weakest so I worked on my VR the most and it helped me read the PS and BS science passages better.

Hi Jeesing,

I wrote my mcat for the first time and did terribly on VR (below 5). I haven't been big on reading and obviously i suck with VR too.