Premed 101 Forums

Business students at Medical School?

Hi Everyone,

I am a fourth year student at a top Canadian business school and developed an interest in medicine in the past year. However, due to the unique structure of my program, I was not able to take any science electives to prepare for the MCAT. With that said, I know that the McMaster MD program only looks at the VR section, which is doable for people with any background.

If anyone is affiliated with the Mac MD program on this forum, I would appreciate if you can share your opinion on business undergrads at Mac (if you've come across any), how they are viewed by the admission committee, and how well they actually perform in medical school. Or just general, non-science to med school success stories.

Thank you! :)

I'm not a business school graduate but I can at least speak to my slightly non-traditional experience. I did my undergrad in engineering and then went to work in business (not related to engineering or science at all) for a little over a year before getting into med school.

A couple of things I was struck by during the whole application/interview process:

1. Nobody really cared about my background at all. To be honest, the only time it ever came up was if I brought it up. I had kind of expected some skepticism from the adcoms because I wasn't a traditional science student but that couldn't have been further from the truth - until I brought it up myself, no one seemed to care (or even know) about it at all.

2. In interviews, when I did discuss my background, the response from the interviewers was always genuine enthusiasm and interest, not skepticism. It ended up launching a lot of fun conversations about what I'd done in the past, what I'd learned, and how it led me to medicine. I got the sense that they appreciated a backstory that was a bit different - if anything it felt like an advantage, not a disadvantage.